Digital Health Awards 2019: Winners revealed

The winners of the coveted Digital Health Awards have been revealed at the 2019 Summer Schools.

Jon Hoeksma, editor and CEO of Digital Health, announced the winners during a special networking and awards dinner held earlier this evening at the University of Leeds.

The awards, now in their second year, aim to recognise and celebrate the achievements of the leaders making the biggest contributions to UK healthcare IT.

The winners were revealed at the annual two-day Digital Health Summer Schools, which this year runs from 18-19 July, University of Leeds.

The winners of the Digital Health Awards 2019 are:

Digital Health Awards 2019 winners

CIO of the Year: Mandy Griffin, CIO and Managing Director, The Health Informatics Service, Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust

• CCIO of the Year: Gareth Thomas, Group CCIO, Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust

• CNIO of the Year: Natasha Phillips, CNIO University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

• Future Digital Leader of the Year: Nicola Henderson, NHS Forth Valley

• Team of the Year: Informatics Department, Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

• Outstanding contribution award: Marianne Williams, Specialist Gastroenterology Community Dietitian, Somerset Partnership NHS FT

The winners were peer-voted by the 3,500 NHS chief information officers, chief clinical information officers and other digital health leaders who make up the Networks panel.

Some 90 nominations were shortlisted by a panel of judges for this year’s awards, spanning six categories.

The judges met, online and in person, at Digital Health’s London offices on Friday 14 June,  and following lively discussions and deliberation, whittled the entries down to four shortlists of three, and agreed winners for the Team of the Year and Future Digital Leader categories.

The judging panel was:

  • Will Smart, CIO of Health and Care, NHS England (chairman of judges)
  • Jon Hoeksma, CEO, Digital Health
  • Phillipa Winter, Bolton Hospital NHS FT, CIO and CIO of the Year 2018
  • Dr James Reed, CCIO, Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health NHS FT
  • Lisa Emery, CIO, Royal Marsden NHS FT / Chair, London CIO Council
  • Dr Shera Chok, Medical Director, Tower Hamlets GP Care Group CIC
  • Ella Worsdale, Rising Star 2018, Head of Information, Pennine Care NHS FT
  • Dr Maureen Baker, Chair, PRSB
  • Jackie Murphy, Chief Nurse Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS FT, CNIO of the Year 2018

Earlier in the day, delegates heard international keynotes from Nick Adkins, John Halamka and Margunn Aenestad.

The Shuri Network, which aims to support and encourage women of black and minority ethnic (BME) backgrounds in digital health roles, was launched.

Share this post if you enjoyed! 🙂

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *